Sunday| 25. June | 11:00
Kongresshaus | Olympiasaal



Matthias Wollong
| Violin
Andreas Wylezol | Double bass
Michael Horwath | Viola
Robert Oberaigner | Clarinet
Norbert Anger | Cello

Michael Schöch | Piano

Michael Horwath     Robert Oberaigner © Matthias Baus
Norbert Anger © Anton Milagros     Michael Schöch © Arturo Fuentes
Matthias Wollong © Matthias Creutziger     Andreas Wylezol

Richard Strauss
Fünf Klavierstücke op. 3
Sonate für Violine und Klavier Es-Dur op. 18
Tänze aus „Capriccio“ für Violine, Violoncello und Klavier
Hans Pfitzner
Sextett für Klavier, Violine, Viola, Violoncello, Kontrabass und Klarinette g-Moll op. 55

When leading instrumentalists from one of the most inestimable orchestras of the world come together to perform chamber music, the pulse of the average music lover beats a jot faster. Matthias Wollong, Michael Horwath, Norbert Anger, Andreas Wylezol und Robert Oberaigner are members of the Staatskapelle Dresden, one of Richard Strauss’s favourite orchestras. The outstanding, award winning musicians share their love of chamber music with the young pianist and organist Michael Schöch and join him regularly for recitals. They were last heard in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in 2015.
Their matinee programme includes three works from Strauss, beginning with the Five Piano Pieces, then the wonderful Sonata for Violin in e-flat Major and ending with the dances from Capriccio – his last opera.  Hans Pfitzners 1945 composition Sextet for Clarinet, Strings and Piano rounds the programme, a work composed in Garmisch-Partenkirchen at the end of the War, where the wounded Pfitzner was in hospital after fleeing the bombed city of Munich.

Radio Relay on the 12th July 2017 at 20:03 on BR-Klassik in "Festspielzeit"

Additional information