Saturday| 24. June | 15:00
Kongresshaus | Festsaal Werdenfels



Ks. Brigitte Fassbaender | Welcome
Awardees of the Richard-Strauss-Gesangswettbewerb 2017

Awarding Ks. Gundula Janowitz with the Ehrenplakette Richard Strauss

Ks. Brigitte Fassbaender (c) Marc Gilsdorf            Ks. Gundula Janowitz

For the very last time, Brigitte Fassbaender will open the Richard Strauss Festival. Since she assumed the artistic direction in 2009, the Festival has grown in reputation to be considered one of the highlights of the Bavarian cultural scene. And one can sense yet again her handwriting in the programming, where illustrious artists gather to celebrate the great composer Richard Strauss and his immortal music.
The musical contribution for the opening ceremony comes from the winners of the Richard Strauss Society’s competition.  The awarding of the Strauss Medal to Gundula Janowitz will be a crowning point of the ceremony.

Additional information