WITH WORKS BY
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
RICHARD STRAUSS
YRJÖ KILPINEN
Julian Prégardien
tenor
Kota Sakaguchi
piano

On his highly acclaimed Lied debut album, Julien Prégardien presented himself in 2014 as a Lied tenor with “fantastic articulation and grippingly yearning” (Crescendo). Particularly convincing was his interpretation of Beethoven’s An die ferne Geliebte. Prégardien has also made a name for himself as an interpreter of Strauss: not only did he record Strauss’ Mädchenblumen for the aforementioned album, he also sang the role of Narraboth in the celebrated production of Salome at the 2019 Salzburg Festival.

The repertoire of the “probably most perfect Lied tenor of our time” (Fono Forum) - with a special focus on songs by Strauss, Schubert and Schumann - also includes composers who are less known in central Europe, such as Yrjö Kilpinen. The Finnish composer Kilpinen wrote around 700 Lieder, over 70 of which are based on texts by the German poet Christian Morgenstern. Julian Prégardien will perform a small selection of Kilpinen’s Lieder at this year’s Richard-Strauss-Tage.


Tickets € 29

GAP-Ticket
+49 8821 730 1995
info@gap-ticket.de


© Peter Rigaud
© Peter Rigaud

Julian Prégardienwas born in Frankfurt in 1984 and received his first musical education in the choirs of Limburg Cathedral Music. After studies in Freiburg and at the Aix en Provence Opera Festival Academy, he was an ensemble member of the Frankfurt Opera from 2009 to 2013. At the same time, his international concert activities developed. In the meantime, the tenor has become an internationally outstanding representative of the young generation of singers.

As an opera singer, he has made guest appearances at the Festival d’Aix en Provence, at the Hamburg and Bavarian State Operas and at the Opéra Comique in Paris. In 2018 he made his Salzburg Festival debut as Narraboth in Richard Strauss’ Salome (directed by Romeo Castellucci) with the Vienna Philharmonic conducted by Franz Welser-Möst. In 2019 followed his debut as Tamino in a new production of Mozart’s Magic Flute at the Staatsoper Berlin conducted by Alondra de la Parra. In the 2020/2021 season he returns to the Staatsoper Berlin in a revival of The Magic Flute and will embody Narraboth in a new production of Strauss’ Salome at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, directed by Philipp Stölzl and conducted by Valery Gergiev.
Recent highlights have included concerts with the Munich Philharmonic, the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra, the Munich Radio Orchestra, the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal and the Bavarian Radio Choir. Julian Prégardien was “Artiste Ètoile” of the Mozartfest Würzburg in 2019, where he performed with the Freiburger Barockorchester and the Bamberger Symphoniker, among others. In early March 2020, he made his Cleveland Orchestra debut with Mendelssohn’s “Lobgesang” under Franz Welser-Möst.
In the 2020/2021 season he will, among others, perform with the Balthasar-Neumann Ensemble conducted by Thomas Hengelbrock, with the Dresden Philharmonic under Cornelius Meister, with the Philharmonic State Orchestra Hamburg under Kent Nagano, with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig under Gotthold Schwarz, with the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia under Antonio Pappano, with the Ensemble Pygmalion under Raphaël Pichon, with the Concentus Musicus under Stephan Gottfried and with Les Talens Lyriques under Christophe Rousset.
A special focus of Julian Prégardien’s artistic activities are recitals and chamber music projects. In the 2020/2021 season, he will appear at the Kölner Philharmonie as a portrait artist with various song and chamber music projects and orchestral songs together with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen conducted by Alondra de la Parra. In addition to numerous recitals, Julian Prégardien will perform Schubert’s “Schwanengesang” with Martin Helmchen and Schumann’s “Dichterliebe” with Eric le Sage.
Julian Prégardien is the exclusive artist of the Alpha Classics label. He is professor of voice at the Munich University of Music and Theatre, a member of the Schumann Network and artistic director of the Brentano Academy Aschaffenburg.


Kota SakaguchiKota Sakaguchi was born in 1993 in Osaka/Japan and received piano lessons from K. Suzuki, K. Matusi, H. Abe and S. Okahara.

After his studies (Bachelor and Master for solo piano) at the Kyoto University of the Arts, he graduated in 2021 with a Master’s degree in Lied interpretation with distinction at the Munich University of Music and Theatre, where he studied with Fritz Schwinghammer, Donald Sulzen and Rudi Spring. He also took part in several master classes and worked with Markus Hadulla, Dietrich Henschel, Stefan Arnold, Dina Yoffe, Kevin Kenner and Helmut Deutsch.

He won the First Special Prize for Pianists at the 2nd International Helmut Deutsch Lied Competition, the Third Prize at the 32nd PTNA Piano Competition, the “Audience Special Prize” at the Takarazuka-Vega Music Competition and the First Prize at the 1st Nagoya International Music Competition.

He performs regularly as a soloist, as a chamber musician in Lied duo and as a conductor in many concerts together with, among others, the Japan Century Symphony Orchestra, the Telemann Chamber Orchestra, the Reise Chamber Orchestra and the Orchestra of the Kyoto University of the Arts.

MIT LIEDERN VON
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
RICHARD STRAUSS
YRJÖ KILPINEN
Julian Prégardien
Tenor
Kota Sakaguchi
Klavier

Auf seinem hochgelobten Lied-Debütalbum stellte sich der Tenor Julian Prégardien 2014 als Liedinterpret mit „fantastischer Artikulation und packend sehnsuchtsvoll“ (Crescendo) vor. Besonders überzeugte er dabei mit seiner Interpretation von Beethovens An die ferne Geliebte. Und auch als Strauss-Interpret konnte sich Prégardien bereits einen Namen machen: Nicht nur nahm er für besagtes Album Strauss’ Mädchenblumen auf, auch sang er den Narraboth in der gefeierten Salome-Inszenierung bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2019.

Zum Repertoire des „wahrscheinlich vollkommensten Liedtenor unserer Zeit“ (Fono Forum) mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Liedern von Strauss, Schubert und Schumann gehören auch Komponisten wie Yrjö Kilpinen, die in unseren Breitengraden weniger bekannt sind. Der Finne Kilpinen schrieb rund 700 Lieder – davon über 70 alleine auf die Texte des Deutschen Dichters Christian Morgenstern. Eine kleine Auswahl wird Julian Prégardien bei den Richard-Strauss-Tagen 2021 vorstellen.


Karten 29 €

Tickets erhältlich bei GAP-Ticket
08821 730 1995
info@gap-ticket.de

© Peter Rigaud
© Peter Rigaud

Julian Prégardienwurde 1984 in Frankfurt geboren und erhielt seine erste musikalische Bildung in den Chören der Limburger Dommusik. Nach Studien in Freiburg und im Rahmen der Akademie des Opernfestivals von Aix en Provence war er von 2009 bis 2013 Ensemblemitglied der Oper Frankfurt. Parallel entwickelte sich seine internationale Konzerttätigkeit. Inzwischen ist der Tenor ein international herausragender Vertreter der jungen Sänger-Generation.

Als Opernsänger gastierte er beim Festival d’Aix en Provence, an der Hamburgischen und an der Bayerischen Staatsoper sowie an der Opéra Comique in Paris. 2018 debütierte er bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Narraboth in Richard Strauss‘ Salome (Regie: Romeo Castellucci) mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Leitung von Franz Welser-Möst. 2019 folgte sein Debut als Tamino in einer Neuproduktion von Mozarts Zauberflöte an der Staatsoper Berlin unter der Leitung von Alondra de la Parra. Eine Wiederaufnahme dieser Produktion ist für das Frühjahr 2021 geplant.

Höhepunkte der jüngsten Vergangenheit waren Konzerte mit den Münchener Philharmonikern, dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg, dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester, dem Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal und dem Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Julian Prégardien war 2019 „Artiste Ètoile“ des Mozartfestes Würzburg, wo er u.a. mit dem Freiburger Barockorchester und den Bamberger Symphonikern auftrat. Anfang März 2020 debütierte er beim Cleveland Orchestra mit Mendelssohns „Lobgesang“ unter Franz Welser-Möst. In der Saison 2020/2021 wird er u.a. mit dem Balthasar-Neumann Ensemble unter der Leitung von Thomas Hengelbrock, mit der Dresdner Philharmonie unter Cornelius Meister, mit dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg unter Kent Nagano, mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig unter Gotthold Schwarz, mit der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia unter Antonio Pappano, mit dem Ensemble Pygmalion unter Raphaël Pichon, mit dem Concentus Musicus unter Stephan Gottfried sowie mit Les Talens Lyriques unter der Leitung von Christophe Rousset zu hören sein.

Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt der künstlerischen Tätigkeit Julian Prégardiens bilden Liederabende und Kammermusikprojekte. In der Saison 2020/2021 wird er an der Kölner Philharmonie als Porträt-Künstler mit verschiedenen Lied- und Kammermusik-Projekten und Orchesterliedern mit der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen und Alondra de la Parra vertreten sein. Neben zahlreichen Liederabenden wird Julian Prégardien mit Schuberts „Schwanengesang“ mit Martin Helmchen und Schumanns „Dichterliebe“ mit Eric le Sage zu hören sein.

Julian Prégardien ist Exklusivkünstler des Labels Alpha Classics. Er ist Professor für Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München, Mitglied des Schumann-Netzwerkes und künstlerischer Leiter der Brentano-Akademie Aschaffenburg.


Kota SakaguchiKota Sakaguchi wurde 1993 in Osaka/Japan geboren und erhielt Klavierunterricht bei K. Suzuki, K. Matusi, H. Abe und S. Okahara.

Nach seinem Studium (Bachelor und Master für Solo-Klavier) an der Hochschule für Kunst Kyoto legte er 2021 sein Masterdiplom in Liedgestaltung mit Bestnote an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München ab, wo er bei Fritz Schwinghammer, Donald Sulzen und Rudi Spring studierte. Darüber hinaus nahm er an vielen Meisterklassen teil und arbeitete bei Markus Hadulla, Dietrich Henschel, Stefan Arnold, Dina Yoffe, Kevin Kenner und Helmut Deutsch.

Er gewann den Ersten Sonderpreis für Pianist/innen beim 2. Internationalen Helmut Deutsch Liedwettbewerb, den Dritten Preis beim 32. PTNA Klavierwettbewerb, den „Publikums‐Sonderpreis“ beim Takarazuka-Vega Musikwettbewerb und den Ersten Preis beim 1. Internationalen Nagoya Musikwettbewerb.

Er konzertiert regelmäßig als Solist, als Kammermusiker im Lied-Duo und auch als Dirigent in vielen Konzerten u. A. zusammen mit dem Japan Century Symphony Orchester, dem Telemann Kammer Orchester, dem Reise Kammer Orchester und dem Orchester der Hochschule für Kunst Kyoto.