Leoš Janáček

Sinfonietta

Richard Strauss

Eine Alpensinfonie op. 64

Antonello Manacorda
Conductor
Brno Philharmonic
Concert's gallery

Open-air concerts will be held for the first time at the festival. The stunning background for the concerts is the inner courtyard of the Ettal Monastery, which also hosts the Bavarian regional exhibition "Myth of Bavaria" in 2018. On Friday, Leoš Janáček's "Sinfonietta" and Richard Strauss' masterpiece "Eine Alpensinfonie" will be performed by the Brno Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of the Italian conductor Antonello Manacorda. The programme and the extraordinary atmosphere of the concert promise a very special experience. If you like, you also can enjoy the music while having a typical Bavarian picnic on the meadow in the inner courtyard.

In case of bad weather open air concerts will be transferred from the inner courtyard of the Ettal Abbey to the Alpspitzhalle at the Olympic Ice Sports Centre, Am Eisstadion 1, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Hotline for weather information on the day of the event: +49.(0)8821.910 5 999

Bus transfer GAP - Ettal - GAP and München - Ettal - München can be booked additionally.


Antonello Manacorda © Nikolaj Lund
Antonello Manacorda © Nikolaj Lund

Antonello ManacordaAntonello Manacorda is currently Artistic Director of Kammerakademie Potsdam, a position he has held since 2010, and Principal Conductor of Het Gelders Orkest in The Netherlands since 2011.
A prolific opera and symphonic conductor, Manacorda has worked with many of the leading ensembles and opera houses. The 2016-17 season saw his acclaimed debuts with the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Camerata Salzburg and the SWR Sinfonieorchester, plus titles at the Bayerische Staatsoper, Frankfurt Opera, La Monnaie and the Komische Oper.

Manacorda recently completed a celebrated Schubert Symphony cycle for Sony Classical with the Kammerakademie Potsdam, which was met with high praise, including one being listed in Die Welt’s top ten CDs of 2013 and the recordings were awarded an ECHO Klassik in 2015 for Ensemble/Orchestra of the year. He has also recorded a CD of Mahler’s 4th Symphony with Het Gelders Orkest and soprano Lisa Larsson, which was released in November 2014 by Challenge Records. His current recording project for Sony Classical is a Mendelssohn symphony cycle with the Kammerakademie Potsdam, with the first two releases already achieving much praise from the international press.
The 2015-16 season included debuts at the Theater an der Wien conducting Rossini’s Otello with the Wiener Symphoniker and in August 2016 he conducted Berlioz’ Béatrice et Benedict with the London Philharmonic Orchestra for his Glyndebourne Festival debut. He will return to the Theater an der Wien during the 17-18 season to conduct Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and will make his subscription debut with the Wiener Symphoniker. Other highlights of the current season include a return to La Monnaie and Frankfurt Opera and his debut with the Dresden Philharmonic.
Manacorda has also conducted the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Gothenburg Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, Teatro la Fenice, Swedish Chamber Orchestra and conducted the Mozarteumorchester in a performance of Schubert’s Alfonso und Estrella in Salzburg as part of the Mozartwoche. In February 2014 he conducted a Beethoven Cycle over four consecutive days in Potsdam with Kammerakademie Potsdam, and is also a regular guest every year at the Concertgebouw with Het Gelders Orkest. He also has a long-standing relationship with Teatro La Fenice, and the director Damiano Michieletto, and returned to La Fenice in November 2015 to conduct The Magic Flute.
A founder-member of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra Antonello Manacorda was its vice-president and concertmaster for eight years. A scholarship from De Sono in his home town of Turin allowed him to pursue his goal of becoming a conductor by enabling him to study with Jorma Panula for two years in Helsinki. From 2003-06 he was Artistic Director for chamber music at the Académie Européenne de Musique du Festival d’Aix en Provence.


Filharmonie Brno © Filharmonie Brno, 2018
Filharmonie Brno © Filharmonie Brno, 2018

Brno PhilharmonicThe roots of the Brno Philharmonic go back to the 1870s, when the young Leoš Janáček endeavoured to establish a Czech symphony orchestra in Brno. The works of the famous twentieth-century composer constitute the core of the orchestra’s repertory, and to this day the Brno Philharmonic continues to be considered the authentic performer of his oeuvre. The present orchestra was created in 1956 by merging the Brnobased Radio and Regional orchestras, and since then has been among the leading Czech orchestras in terms of both size and importance. On its tours abroad, it has performed about a thousand concerts throughout Europe, the United States of America, Latin America, and both the Middle and Far East. The Philharmonic is a regular guest at festivals in the Czech Republic and abroad, frequently joining forces for these appearances with the excellent Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno. The orchestra regularly records for the Czech Radio, Czech Television and a number of music labels (Supraphon, Sony Music, IMG Records, BMG, Channel 4), and is also receiving a growing number of commissions from global clientele through the agency Czech Orchestra Recordings.

Throughout its history, the orchestra has had a number of Czech and international conductors, including Břetislav Bakala, František Jílek, Petr Altrichter, Jiří Bělohlávek, Jakub Hrůša, Tomáš Netopil, Charles Munch, Kurt Masur, Sir Charles Mackerras, Yehudi Menuhin and Aleksandar Marković. The orchestra offers about hundred concerts a year in 12 subscription series, collaborating with specialised ensembles for its non-orchestral series. The face of each season is the resident artist (previously Olga Kern, Vadim Gluzman, Radek Baborák, Fazil Say, Benjamin Yusupov and Alina Pogostkina), with British cellist Matthew Barley serving the role in the 61st season. Since 2000 the Philharmonic has been organising the open-air summer festival at the Špilberk castle in Brno, and in 2012 has become the organiser of the renowned traditional festivals Moravian Autumn, Easter Festival of Sacred Music and Exposition of New Music. The orchestra sponsors the internationally lauded children’s choir Kantiléna, has been involved since 2010 in the popular educational project Mozart’s Children, and in 2014 founded the Brno Philharmonic Academy.
Today Brno Philharmonic is not only a strong player in the field of symphonic music at home and abroad, but also the primary organiser of the musical season in the second largest Czech city, an active instigator of festivals and a creative leader in orchestral programming. Its home is the beautiful building of Besední dům, the Brno counterpart to Vienna’s Musikverein, built in 1873 according to a design by Theophil Hansen, though the orchestra is now looking forward to its new modern concert hall.

Leoš Janáček (1854 — 1928)

Sinfonietta

Richard Strauss (1864 — 1949)

Eine Alpensinfonie op. 64

Antonello Manacorda
Dirigent
Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

Klassik Open Air 1 im Klosterinnenhof der Benediktinerabtei Ettal
Die Open Air Konzerte im Klosterhof sind eine Premiere, für das Festival und für das Kloster Ettal: Richard Strauss’ großartige »Alpensinfonie« findet hier einen ebenso großartigen Rahmen zur Entfaltung ihrer musikalischen und emotionalen Wirkung. Das traditionsreiche Brno Pilharmonic Orchestra unter Maestro Antonello Manacorda spielt außerdem die mitreißende »Sinfonietta« ihres Landsmanns Leoš Janáček.
Da es sich um eine Freiluftveranstaltung handelt, bitten wir Sie, regenfeste Kleidung anzuziehen.
Bei schlechtem Wetter Verlegung ins Olympia-Eissport-Zentrum, Alpspitzhalle, Am Eisstadion 1, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen.
Information bei unsicherem Wetter Tel: +49(0)8821 910 5999


Antonello Manacorda

Antonello Manacordaist seit der Saison 2010/2011 Künstlerischer Leiter der Kammerakademie Potsdam und seit der Saison 2011/2012 Chefdirigent des niederländischen Het Gelders Orkest.
Als Dirigent von Opernproduktionen und Konzertprogrammen hat Antonello Manacorda bei vielen der weltweit führenden Ensembles und Opernhäusern gastiert. In der Saison 2016-17 gab er gefeierte Debüts beim NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, bei der Camerata Salzburg und beim SWR Sinfonieorchester. Außerdem leitete er Produktionen an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, der Oper Frankfurt, am Théâtre de La Monnaie und der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Mit der Kammerakademie Potsdam hat Antonello Manacorda einen Schubert-Zyklus für Sony aufgenommen, der von der Kritik begeistert aufgenommen wurde – so zählte Die Welt eine der Aufnahmen zu den zehn besten Einspielungen des Jahres 2013. Beim ECHO Klassik 2015 erhielt die Kammerakademie Potsdam für den Zyklus den Preis in der Kategorie Ensemble des Jahres. Mit Het Gelders Orkest und der schwedischen Sopranistin Lisa Larsson hat Antonello Manacorda Mahlers 4. Symphonie eingespielt, die CD wurde im November 2014 bei Challenge Records veröffentlicht. Wieder für Sony nimmt Manacorda derzeit alle Symphonien von Mendelssohn auf, die ersten zwei CDs wurden in der internationalen Presse bereits hoch gelobt.
In der Saison 2015/16 gab Manacorda ein gefeiertes Debüt am Theater an der Wien mit Rossinis Otello und den Wiener Symphonikern, im August 2016 dirigierte er erstmals in Glyndebourne, wo er Berliozʼ Béatrice et Bénédict mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra leitete. Ans Theater an der Wien kehrt Manacorda in der Saison 2017-18 mit Brittens A Midsummer Night’s Dream zurück. Ebenfalls in Wien wird er sein erstes Konzert in der Abonnement-Reihe der Wiener Symphoniker leiten. Zu den weiteren Höhepunkten der Saison zählen Mozarts Lucio Silla am Théâtre de la Monnaie, Meyerbeers L’Africaine an der Oper Frankfurt und sein Debüt bei den Dresdner Philharmonikern.
Antonello Manacorda arbeitet außerdem mit Orchestern wie dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic, Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana und Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Bei der Mozartwoche Salzburg debütierte er beim Mozarteumorchester in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Schuberts Alfonso und Estrella. Im Februar 2014 leitete er in Potsdam an vier aufeinanderfolgenden Tagen einen Beethovenzyklus mit der Kammerakademie Potsdam, und er ist ebenso regelmäßig im Concertgebouw mit Het Gelders Orkest zu Gast. Eine besondere Verbindung hat er zum Regisseur Damiano Michieletto und zum Teatro La Fenice in Venedig, dort stand im November 2015 erneut die Zauberflöte unter seiner Leitung auf dem Programm
Antonello Manacorda war Gründungsmitglied und langjähriger Konzertmeister des Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Ein Stipendium der in seiner Heimatstadt Turin ansässigen De Sono Associazione per la Musica ermöglichte ihm ein zweijähriges Dirigierstudium bei Jorma Panula in Helsinki. Von 2003 bis 2006 war Antonello Manacorda künstlerischer Leiter im Bereich Kammermusik an der Académie Européenne de Musique beim Festival in Aix-en-Provence.


Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, deren Wurzeln bis in die 1870er Jahre zurückreichen, als der junge Leoš Janáček sich um die Gründung eines tschechischen Symphonieorchesters in Brünn bemühte, sind diesem bis heute sehr verbunden. Die Werke dieses berühmten Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts bilden das Kernrepertoire des Orchesters, und bis heute gelten die Aufführungen seines Oeuvres durch Brno Philharmonic als besonders authentisch. Das jetzige Orchester entstand 1956 aus dem Zusammenschluss des Rundfunkorchesters Brno mit lokalen Orchestern, und seither gehört es zu den führenden tschechischen Orchestern, sowohl hinsichtlich seiner Größe als auch seiner Bedeutung. Auf seinen Auslandstourneen spielte es n die tausend Konzerte in ganz Europa, den USA, Lateinamerika und im mittleren und fernen Osten. Brno Philharmonic ist regelmäßig bei Festivals in Tschechien und im Ausland zu Gast, wobei das Orchester häufig gemeinsam mit dem ausgezeichneten Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno auftritt. Regelmäßig produziert das Orchester Aufnahmen für den tschechischen Rundfunk, das tschechische Fernsehen sowie für eine Reihe von Musiklabels (Supraphon, Sony Music, IMG Records, BMG, Channel 4); durch die Agentur Czech Orchestra Recordings erhält es außerdem eine wachsende Zahl von Anfragen globaler Klientel.

Im Laufe seiner Geschichte standen zahlreichen tschechische und internationale Dirigenten am Pult des Orchesters, darunter Břetislav Bakala, František Jílek, Petr Altrichter, Jiří Bělohlávek, Jakub Hrůša, Tomáš Netopil, Charles Munch, Kurt Masur, Sir Charles Mackerras, Yehudi Menuhin und Aleksandar Marković. Das Orchester veranstaltet jährlich etwa hundert Konzerte in zwölf Abonnement-Reihen, wobei es im Rahmen seiner nicht-orchestralen Konzertreihen mit Ensembles unterschiedlicher Stilrichtungen zusammenarbeitet. Ein „Artist in residence“ gibt jeder Saison ein Gesicht; in der Vergangenheit waren das Olga Kern, Vadim Gluzman, Radek Baborák, Fazil Say, Benjamin Yusupov und Alina Pogostkina. Der britische Cellist Matthew Barley ist in der 61. Saison diese Rolle zu erleben. Seit 2000 organisiert Brno Philharmonic das Open-Air-Sommerfestival auf Schloss Špilberk in Brno, und seit 2012 ist es auch Veranstalter der renommierten, traditionsreichen Festivals Moravian Autumn, Easter Festival of Sacred Music und Exposition of New Music. Das Orchester unterstützt den international hochgelobten Kinderchor Kantiléna, ist seit 2010 am populären Edukationsprojekt Mozart’s Children beteiligt und gründete 2014 die Brno Philharmonic Academy.
Heute spielt Brno Philharmonic nicht nur national und international eine bedeutende Rolle auf dem Gebiet der symphonischen Musik; es fungiert auch als auch Hauptveranstalter der Musiksaison der zweitgrößten tschechischen Stadt, als aktiver Initiator von Festivals sowie als kreativer Vordenker im Hinblick auf die Programmgestaltung. Sein Sitz ist das wunderschöne Gebäude von Besední dům, das Brnoer Gegenstück zum Wiener Musikvereinssaal, das 1873 nach einem Entwurf von Theophil Hansen errichtet wurde; dennoch freut sich das Orchester auf seinen neuen, modernen Konzertsaal.