Richard-Strauss-Festival @ Schloss Elmau

"Fascination of the Alps"
Alexander Liebreich
Felix Neureuther

The charming German ski star Felix Neureuther and the committed sports fan Alexander Liebreich dedicate themselves to the topic "Fascination Alps". A place of nostalgia for one, a living space for the other, a projection screen of dreams motivated by tourism and a homeland defied by nature - the Alps have many aspects and mean something different for anyone. Their fascination continues to have an unbroken effect on those who get involved with them. Look forward to a relaxed talk entitled "Sport meets Culture".

Bus transfer GAP - Elmau - GAP can be booked additionally.


Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk
Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk

Alexander LiebreichIn December 2017, Alexander Liebreich was appointed Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Prague; he will take up office in September 2018. Since September 2012, Alexander Liebreich has been Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra (NOSPR). In 2014, he inaugurated the new concert hall in Katowice with the ensemble. On the opening night, Johannes Brahms’s First Piano Concerto with Krystian Zimerman was on the program among others. As part of his collaboration with the orchestra and the label Accentus Music, three recordings with a repertoire of great Polish composers have appeared. The third CD with works by Karol Szymanowski and Witold Lutosławski won the International Classical Music Award 2017 in the category “Best Collection”.

Since May 2015, Alexander Liebreich is Artistic Director of the Katowice Kultura Natura Music Festival, which has already had guests like the Rias Chamber Choir, the Academy of Early Music Berlin, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and the Budapest Festival Orchestra. In May 2018, Leif Ove Andsnes, the Quatuor Ebène and the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich are expected to perform for the 4th edition of the festival. In 2018, Liebreich will take over the position of Artistic Director of the Richard Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

From 2006 to 2016 Liebreich was Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Munich Chamber Orchestra (MKO). The first CD of the ensemble with works by Joseph Haydn and Isang Yun under his direction was received enthusiastically by the critics during its release in January 2008; 2009 followed a Bach CD with Hilary Hahn, Christine Schäfer and Matthias Goerne for the Deutsche Grammophon. The recording with the MKO of Tigran Mansurian’s “Requiem” (2017, ECM Records) with the RIAS Chamber Choir was honored with the Recording Academy nominations for the 2018 Grammy Awards as well as by the jury of the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA).

As one of Germany’s leading conductors, Alexander Liebreich is at home on the big concert stages in the world. As a guest conductor, he has collaborated with many top-class orchestras, including the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Orchester National de Belgique, the Rundfunk-Symphonieorchester Berlin, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo the Dresdner Philharmonie, the Orchester Philharmonique de Luxembourg, the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, and the NHK Symphony Orchestra. Current and future commitments include debuts with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the Orquesta de Valencia, the Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Essen Philharmonic, the Staatsorchester Stuttgart, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin.

Liebreich has performed with outstanding soloists such as Lisa Batiashvili, Krystian Zimerman, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Gautier Capuçon, Leila Josefowicz and Isabelle Faust.

In addition to his concerts and opera productions, Liebreich has also built up a reputation with innovative projects. In 2011, he was the first European Artistic Director of the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) in South Korea, one of the largest and most important music festivals in Asia. To promote intercultural encounters, he launched the East-West Residence Program and invited artists like Heiner Goebbels, Unsuk Chin, Martin Grubinger, Toshio Hosokawa, and Beat Furrer to South Korea.

In October 2016 Alexander Liebreich was awarded the special prize of the Kulturpreis Bayern 2016.

As a native of Regensburg Alexander Liebreich studied at the Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Munich and the Salzburg Mozarteum. He gained his first artistic experience with Claudio Abbado and Michael Gielen.


Felix Neureuther © Foto Bogner
Felix Neureuther © Foto Bogner

Felix NeureutherIf Felix Neureuther had his genome decoded, the existence of a slalom gene would probably have been scientifically proven. Mother Rosi Mittermaier was an Olympic champion, world champion and overall World Cup winner as well as father Christian Neureuther as 6 times World Cup winner and – like his son – winner in Kitzbühel and Wengen. The highest championship in the most technically demanding field of skiing lies here in the family.
Felix Neureuther was born in Munich in 1984 and was skiing for the first time at the age of two and a half. At the age of three he won the first race at the Children’s Ski Club Championships of SC Partenkirchen. From then on, skiing never let him go. From the German Youth Championship to top positions and 13 victories in the World Cup to his five World Championship medals, the track record of this likeable top athlete ranges.
But Felix Neureuther not only knows the brilliant side of racing, in the course of his impressive career he has also learned about setbacks and injury-related time-outs. The hope of a start at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang was not fulfilled due to a serious injury. The fact that he nevertheless works on himself and his career with great discipline, positive attitude and great motivation makes him not only successful, but also a role model for many.
As ambassador of “fit4future” Felix Neureuther is committed to promoting physical and mental fitness from a childhood on. “As a top athlete, I learned to fight. I have learned through training and work to achieve goals, to educate myself further and to grow. That’s why I decided to pass on all my experiences and knowledge to children with my own “fit4future”-project “Move smart!”. To motivate children to do more sports, to positively influence their lifestyle and habits in the long term”.
Felix Neureuther lives with his wife, the biathlete Miriam Neureuther, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Whether the slalom gene will also become apparent in the next generation may soon become apparent. The couple has a little daughter.

Richard-Strauss-Festival @ Schloss Elmau

"Faszination Alpen"
Alexander Liebreich
Felix Neureuther

Der sympathische Skistar Felix Neureuther und der bekennende Sportfan Alexander Liebreich widmen sich dem Thema „Faszination Alpen“. Sehnsuchtsort für die einen, Lebensraum für die anderen, Projektionsfläche touristisch motivierter Träume und der Natur abgetrotzte Heimat – die Alpen sind vieles und für jeden etwas anderes. Ihre Faszination wirkt ungebrochen auf alle, die sich auf sie einlassen. Freuen Sie sich auf einen entspannten Talk unter dem Motto „Sport meets Kultur“.

Bustransfer GAP - Elmau - GAP kann zugebucht werden.


Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk
Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk

Alexander LiebreichIm Dezember 2017 wurde Alexander Liebreich zum Chefdirigenten und Künstlerischen Leiter des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Prag ernannt; er wird sein Amt im September 2018 antreten.Seit September 2012 ist Alexander Liebreich Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Nationalen Sinfonieorchesters des Polnischen Rundfunks (NOSPR). Mit dem Ensemble weihte er 2014 die neue Konzerthalle in Katowice ein. Am Eröffnungsabend stand unter anderem das Erste Klavierkonzert von Johannes Brahms mit Krystian Zimerman auf dem Programm. Im Rahmen seiner Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester und dem Label Accentus Music sind drei Aufnahmen mit Repertoire großer polnischer Komponisten erschienen. Die dritte CD mit Werken von Karol Szymanowski und Witold Lutosławski gewann den International Classical Music Award 2017 in der Kategorie „Best Collection”.

Seit Mai 2015 ist Alexander Liebreich künstlerischer Leiter des Musikfestivals „Katowice Kultura Natura“, bei dem bereits der Rias Kammerchor, die Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, das Mahler Chamber Orchestra und das Budapest Festival Orchester zu Gast waren. Im Mai 2018 werden für die 4. Ausgabe des Festivals unter anderen Leif Ove Andsnes, das Quatuor Ebène und das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich erwartet. 2018 wird Liebreich das Amt des Künstlerischen Leiters des Richard-Strauss-Festivals in Garmisch-Partenkirchen übernehmen.

Von 2006 bis 2016 war Liebreich Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent des Münchener Kammerorchesters (MKO). Die erste CD des Ensembles unter seiner Leitung mit Werken von Joseph Haydn und Isang Yun wurde bei der Veröffentlichung im Januar 2008 von den Kritikern begeistert aufgenommen; 2009 folgte eine Bach-CD mit Hilary Hahn, Christine Schäfer und Matthias Goerne für die Deutsche Grammophon. Die Aufnahme mit dem MKO von Tigran Mansurians „Requiem” (2017, ECM Records) mit dem RIAS Kammerchor wurde mit Nominierungen der Recording Academy für die Grammy Awards 2018 sowie von der Jury der International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) geehrt.

Als einer der führenden Dirigenten Deutschlands ist Alexander Liebreich auf den großen Konzertbühnen der Welt zu Hause. Als Gastdirigent hat er mit vielen hochkarätigen Orchestern zusammengearbeitet, darunter dem Concertgebouw Orchestra, dem Orchestre National de Belgique, dem Rundfunk-Symphonieorchester Berlin, dem BBC Symphony Orchestra, den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo, der Dresdner Philharmonie, dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg, dem Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich und dem NHK Symphony Orchestra. Zu aktuellen und zukünftigen Verpflichtungen zählen Debüts bei den St. Petersburger Philharmonikern, dem Orquesta de Valencia, dem Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, den Essener Philharmonikern, dem Staatsorchester Stuttgart, dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra sowie der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin.

Liebreich hat mit herausragenden Solisten wie Lisa Batiashvili, Krystian Zimerman, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Gautier Capuçon, Leila Josefowicz und Isabelle Faust konzertiert.

Neben seinen Konzerten und Opernproduktionen hat sich Liebreich auch mit innovativen Projekten einen Namen gemacht. 2011 war er der erste europäische Künstlerische Leiter des Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) in Südkorea, einem der größten und wichtigsten Musikfestivals in Asien. Um interkulturelle Begegnungen zu fördern, rief er das „East-West Residence Programme“ ins Leben und lud Künstler wie Heiner Goebbels, Unsuk Chin, Martin Grubinger, Toshio Hosokawa und Beat Furrer nach Südkorea ein.

Im Oktober 2016 wurde Alexander Liebreich mit dem Sonderpreis des Kulturpreis Bayern 2016 ausgezeichnet.

Der gebürtige Regensburger Alexander Liebreich studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München und dem Salzburger Mozarteum, seine ersten künstlerischen Erfahrungen sammelte er bei Claudio Abbado und Michael Gielen.


Felix Neureuther © Foto Bogner
Felix Neureuther © Foto Bogner

Felix NeureutherLieße Felix Neureuther sein Genom entschlüsseln, wäre der Beweis für die Existenz eines Slalom-Gens wohl wissenschaftlich erbracht. Mutter Rosi Mittermaier war als Olympiasiegerin, Weltmeisterin und Gesamtweltcup-Siegerin ebenso auf diese Disziplin spezialisiert wie Vater Christian Neureuther als 6-facher Weltcupsieger und – ebenso wie der Sohn – Sieger in Kitzbühel und Wengen. Höchste Meisterschaft in der technisch anspruchsvollsten Sparte des Skisports liegt hier in der Familie.
Felix Neureuther wurde 1984 in München geboren und stand im Alter von zweieinhalb Jahren zum ersten Mal auf Skiern. Mit drei gewann er das erste Rennen bei den Kinder-Skiclubmeisterschaften des SC Partenkirchen. Von da an hat ihn der Skisport nicht mehr losgelassen. Von der Deutschen Jugendmeisterschaft über Spitzenplätze und 13 Siege im Weltcup bis zu seinen fünf Weltmeisterschaftsmedaillen reicht die Erfolgsbilanz des sympathischen Spitzensportlers.
Aber Felix Neureuther kennt nicht nur die glänzende Seite des Rennsports, hat im Lauf seiner beeindruckenden Karriere auch Rückschläge und verletzungsbedingte Auszeiten kennen gelernt. Zuletzt erfüllte sich die Hoffnung auf einen Start bei den Olympischen Winterspielen 2018 in Pyeongchang wegen einer schweren Verletzung nicht. Dass er dennoch mit großer Disziplin, positiver Einstellung und großer Motivationsfähigkeit an sich und seiner Laufbahn arbeitet, macht ihn nicht nur erfolgreich, sondern auch zu einem Vorbild für viele.
Als Botschafter von „fit4future“ engagiert sich Felix Neureuther für die Förderung von körperlicher und mentaler Fitness vom Kindesalter an. „Als Spitzensportler habe ich gelernt zu kämpfen. Ich habe gelernt durch Training und Arbeit, Ziele zu erreichen, mich weiter zu bilden und zu entwickeln. Deshalb habe ich mich entschlossen, all meine Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse an Kinder weiterzugeben, mit meinem eigenen «fit4future»-Projekt „Beweg dich schlau!“ Kinder zu mehr Sport zu motivieren, ihre Lebensgewohnheiten und ihren Lebensstil nachhaltig positiv zu beeinflussen.“
Felix Neureuther lebt mit seiner Frau, der Biathletin Miriam Neureuther, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Ob das Slalom-Gen auch in der nächsten Generation zu Tage tritt, wird sich möglicherweise bald erweisen. Das Paar hat eine kleine Tochter.