Richard Strauss

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche op. 28

Orchesterlieder

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 8 G major op. 88

Alexander Liebreich
Conductor
Asmik Grigorian
soprano
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra
Orchester

In 2019 the Richard Strauss Festival welcomes the renowned Radio Symphony Orchestra Prague as "Orchestra in Residence" of the Open Air Concerts in the Ettal Abbey. At the concert on the 28th of June it will not only perform compositions by Richard Strauss under the baton of its artistic director Alexander Liebreich, but also a great work by Antonín Dvořák, one of the most important Czech composers.
With the famous tone poems Richard Strauss created immortal masterpieces and testimonies of his great art. In "Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche" ("Till Eulenspiegel's merry pranks") he set a musical monument to the cheerful and chaotic rogue Till Eulenspiegel. Alexander Liebreich succeeded in creating a true sensation at the following programme item: Since the Lithuanian soprano Asmik Grigorian with her fascinating interpretation of Strauss' Salome became a world star overnight at the Salzburg Festival 2018, her Name is found almost anywhere all over the world. Now she is making her festival debut with orchestral songs by Richard Strauss.
Antonín Dvořák composed his 8th Symphony in the countryside and, between visits to the pub and walks, created a great poetic work with exceptionally beautiful melodies, full of harmonic refinement and ingenuity, as if made for a midsummer night's dream.

In bad weather we move the concerts from the inner courtyard of the Ettal Abbey to the Alpspitzhalle, Olympic Ice Sports Centre, Am Eisstadion 1, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Weather information on the day of the event: +49 . (0)8821 . 910 5 999

Bus transfer GAP - Ettal - GAP and Munich - Ettal - Munich can be booked separately.

We kindly ask for your understanding that it is not allowed to bring your own drinks and to consume them at the open air concerts - food is allowed.


Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk
Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk

Alexander Liebreichbecame Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra in September 2018. He also took over as Artistic Director of the Richard Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in 2018 which led to him being elected head of the Richard-Strauss-Society, following Wolfgang Sawallisch and Brigitte Fassbaender in this position.

Alexander held the position of Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Munich Chamber Orchestra from 2006 – 2016. Their first collaborative CD, featuring works by Joseph Haydn and Isang Yun, was released to great critical acclaim in January 2008. The recent release “Requiem“ by Tigran Mansurian, with RIAS Kammerchor on the label ECM Classics received nominations for the Grammy Award 2018 and the ICMA Award 2018 in the category “Contemporary Music”.

As a guest conductor, Alexander has worked with many prestigious orchestras including the Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin, Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo, St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra and Tonhalle Orchestra Zürich. Recent and future engagements include debuts with the Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta de Valencia and Mahler Chamber Orchestra.

He regularly performs with distinguished soloists such as Lisa Batiashvili, Krystian Zimerman, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Alban Gerhardt, Leila Josefowicz, and Isabelle Faust.


Asmik Grigorian © Rokas Baltakys
Asmik Grigorian © Rokas Baltakys

Asmik GrigorianLithuanian soprano Asmik Grigorian was born in Vilnius, into a family of musicians. She studied at the Lithuanian Music and Theatre Academy and started her operatic career whilst still a student.
She was a founding member of Vilnius City Opera and has twice been awarded the Golden Stage Cross (the highest award for singers in Lithuania), in 2005 for her debut as Violetta in “La Traviata“ and in 2010 for her performance as Mrs. Lovett in “Sweeney Todd”.
In 2016, she was winner of the Young Female Singer prize at the International Opera Awards. Asmik Grigorian appears regularly at opera houses including Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, Oper Köln, Hamburgische Staatsoper, Theater an der Wien, Mariinsky and Mikhailovsky Theatres, Royal Swedish Opera, Royal Concertgebouw, Staatstheater Wiesbaden, Vlaamse Opera, Teatro del Liceu Barcelona, Komische Oper Berlin and at the Latvian National Opera, Riga.

This season and beyond she performs the title roles in “Manon Lescaut” at the Frankfurt Opera, “Madama Butterfly” at the Wiener Staatsoper, “Norma” at the Theater an der Wien, and “Rusalka” in a new production by Christof Loy at Teatro Real Madrid. She continues her relationship with the Salzburg festival singing Shostakovich’s “Symphony No. 14”, Romeo Castellucci’s “Salome”, and Chysothemis in Warlikowski’s “Elektra”, followed by “The Flying Dutchman” in a new production by Tcherniakov at the Bayreuth Festival. She performs Shostakovich’s “Symphony No. 14”with the Ensemble Resonanz at the Elbphilharmonie, and makes her Paris Opera debut in “Jenufa”, and her Palais Garnier debut in “Queen of Spades”. Further debuts include her much anticipated debut at the Metropolitan Opera, her Royal Opera House debut in “Jenufa”, and her debut at La Scala in Graham Vick’s new production of “Die tote Stadt” conducted by Alan Gilbert.


SOCR
SOCR

Prague Radio Symphony OrchestraThe Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra is one of the most eminent Czech orchestra’s today. From the 2018–2019 season the role of Chief Conductor and Artistic Director is taken by the leading German conductor Alexander Liebreich. At present its Principal Guest Conductor is Marek Šedivý.

In recent years the orchestra has worked with top Czech and foreign conductors and soloists, such as Petr Altrichter, Radek Baborák Jiří Bělohlávek, Tomáš Hanus, Jakub Hrůša, Tomáš Netopil, Stephan Asbury, John Axelrod, Ion Marin, Wayne Marshall, Michał Nesterowicz, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, Gautier Capuçon, Sergey Khachatryan, Christian Lindberg, István Várdai, Elīna Garanča, Renée Fleming, Juan Diego Flórez, Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Jonas Kaufmann, Vilém Veverka and Alina Pogostkina. Its Czech collaborators include such names as Jan Bartoš, Tomáš Jamník, Ivo Kahánek, Jan Mráček, Adam Plachetka and Lukáš Vondráček.

The orchestra regularly commissions and performs pieces by eminent contemporary composers (Jan Ryant Dřízal, Jan Klusák and Miroslav Srnka). The orchestra is a regular guest at international venues throughout Europe and in Japan.

The PRSO’s recording work includes a Janáček trilogy conducted by Tomáš Netopil. Two of those releases were named Editor’s Choice by the prestigious magazine Gramophone. Also the first complete recordings of Miloslav Kabeláč’s eight symphonies or the recording of all of Martinů’s piano concertos. The orchestra also recorded in a world premiere Dvořák’s Alfred and an album showcasing Vienna State Opera soloist Adam Plachetka.

Tickets
Richard Strauss

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche op. 28

Orchesterlieder

Antonín Dvořák

Symphonie Nr. 8 G-Dur op. 88

Alexander Liebreich
Dirigent
Asmik Grigorian
Sopran
Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester Prag
Orchester
Konzertgalerie

Das Richard-Strauss-Festival begrüßt 2019 das renommierte Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester Prag als „Orchestra in residence“ der Open Air Konzerte in Kloster Ettal. Beim Konzert am 28. Juni spielt es unter der Leitung seines Chefdirigenten Alexander Liebreich nicht nur Kompositionen von Richard Strauss, sondern auch ein großes Werk von Antonín Dvořák, einem der wichtigsten und bekanntesten tschechischen Komponisten.
Mit den berühmten Tondichtungen schuf Richard Strauss unvergängliche Meisterwerke und Zeugnisse seiner großen Kunst. In „Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche“ setzte er dem liebenswert-chaotischen Schelm Till Eulenspiegel ein musikalisches Denkmal. Beim darauffolgenden Programmpunkt ist Alexander Liebreich eine wahre Sensation gelungen: Seit die litauische Sopranistin Asmik Grigorian mit ihrer faszinierenden Interpretation von Strauss‘ Salome bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2018 über Nacht zum Weltstar avancierte, kann sie sich vor Angeboten kaum retten. Nun gibt sie ihr Festivaldebüt mit Orchesterliedern von Richard Strauss.
Antonín Dvořák komponierte seine 8. Symphonie auf dem Land und schuf zwischen Wirtshausbesuchen und Spaziergängen ein großes poetisches Werk mit bezaubernd schönen Melodien, voll harmonischer Raffinesse und Einfallsreichtum, wie geschaffen für einen Sommernachtstraum.

Bei schlechtem Wetter verlegen wir die Konzerte vom Innenhof des Klosters Ettal in die Alpspitzhalle, Olympia-Eissport-Zentrum, Am Eisstadion 1, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Wetterinformation am Veranstaltungstag: +49.(0)8821.910 5 999

Bustransfer GAP - Ettal - GAP und München - Ettal - München kann zugebucht werden.

Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis, dass es nicht gestattet ist, selbst Getränke mitzubringen und diese bei den Open Air Konzerten zu konsumieren - Speisen sind erlaubt.


Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk
Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk

Alexander Liebreichwurde im September 2018 Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter des Rundfunk Sinfonieorchesters Prag. Im Jahr 2018 übernahm er auch die künstlerische Leitung des Richard-Strauss-Festivals in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, was dazu führte, dass er nach Wolfgang Sawallisch und Brigitte Fassbaender in dieser Funktion zum Leiter der Richard-Strauss-Gesellschaft gewählt wurde.

Von 2006 bis 2016 war Alexander Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent des Münchener Kammerorchesters. Ihre erste gemeinsame CD mit Werken von Joseph Haydn und Isang Yun wurde im Januar 2008 mit großem Erfolg veröffentlicht. Die aktuelle Veröffentlichung „Requiem“ von Tigran Mansurian mit RIAS Kammerchor auf dem Label ECM Classics wurde für den Grammy Award 2018 und den ICMA Award 2018 in der Kategorie „Contemporary Music“ nominiert.

Als Gastdirigent arbeitete Alexander mit vielen renommierten Orchestern zusammen, darunter dem Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin, Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo, St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra und Tonhalle Orchestra Zürich. Zu den jüngsten und zukünftigen Engagements gehören Debüts mit dem Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Singapore Symphony Orchestra, dem Orquesta de Valencia und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra.

Er tritt regelmäßig mit namhaften Solisten wie Lisa Batiashvili, Krystian Zimerman, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Alban Gerhardt, Leila Josefowicz und Isabelle Faust auf.


Asmik Grigorian © Rokas Baltakys
Asmik Grigorian © Rokas Baltakys

Asmik GrigorianDie litauische Sopranistin Asmik Grigorian wurde in Vilnius geboren und kommt aus einer Musikerfamilie. Sie studierte an der Litauischen Musik- und Theaterakademie und begann ihre Opernkarriere bereits während des Studiums.
Sie war Gründungsmitglied der Gesellschaft Vilnius City Opera und wurde zweimal mit dem Golden Stage Cross ausgezeichnet, der höchsten Auszeichnung für Sängerinnen und Sänger in Litauen: 2005 für ihr Debüt als Violetta in „La Traviata“ und 2010 für ihre Darstellung als Frau Lovett in „Sweeney Todd“. Im Jahr 2016 wurde sie mit dem „Young Female Singer“ Preis bei den International Opera Awards ausgezeichnet.

Asmik Grigorian tritt regelmäßig an großen Opernhäusern auf wie dem Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, der Oper Köln, der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, dem Theater an der Wien, dem Mariinsky und dem Mikhailovsky Theater, der Royal Swedish Opera, dem Royal Concertgebouw, dem Staatstheater Wiesbaden, der Vlaamse Opera, dem Teatro del Liceu Barcelona, der Komischen Oper Berlin und der Lettischen Nationaloper Riga.
In dieser Saison und darüber hinaus singt sie die Titelrollen in „Manon Lescaut“ an der Frankfurter Oper, „Madama Butterfly“ an der Wiener Staatsoper, „Norma“ am Theater an der Wien und „Rusalka“ in einer neuen Produktion von Christof Loy am Teatro Real Madrid. Ihre Beziehung zu den Salzburger Festspielen setzt sie 2019 mit der „14. Sinfonie“ von Schostakowitsch, Romeo Castelluccis „Salome“ und der Partie der Chysothemis in Krzysztof Warlikowskis „Elektra“ fort; es folgt eine Neuproduktion von „Der Fliegende Holländer“ in der Regie von Dmitri Tcherniakov bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Sie singt die „14. Sinfonie“ von Schostakowitsch mit dem Ensemble Resonanz in der Elbphilharmonie und gibt ihre Debüts an der Pariser Oper in „Jenůfa“ sowie im Palais Garnier in „Pique Dame“. Weitere Debüts folgen: mit Spannung erwartet an der Metropolitan Opera, am Royal Opera House in „Jenůfa“ sowie an der Scala in Graham Vicks neuer Produktion von „Die tote Stadt“ unter Alan Gilbert.


SOCR © Petr Hornik
SOCR © Petr Hornik

Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester PragDas Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester Prague ist heute eines der bedeutendsten tschechischen Orchester. Seit der Saison 2018/19 ist Alexander Liebreich Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter, Hauptgastdirigent ist derzeit Marek Šedivý.

In den letzten Jahren hat das Orchester mit tschechischen und ausländischen Dirigenten der Spitzenklasse wie Petr Altrichter, Radek Baborák, Jiří Bělohlávek, Tomáš Hanus, Jakub Hrůša, Tomáš Netopil, Stephan Asbury, John Axelrod, Ion Marin, Wayne Marshall, Michał Nesterowicz, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, Gautier Capuçon, Sergey Khachatryan, Christian Lindberg, István Várdai, Elīna Garanča, Renée Fleming, Juan Diego Flórez, Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Jonas Kaufmann, Vilém Veverka, Roman Patočka und Alina Pogostkina zusammengearbeitet. Von den tschechischen Soilsten seien zudem zu nennen: Jan Bartoš, Tomáš Jamník, Ivo Kahánek, Jan Mráček, Adam Plachetka oder Lukáš Vondráček.

Das Orchester beauftragt zeitgenössische tschechische Künstler, wie z.B. Jan Ryant Dřízal, Jan Klusák oder Miroslav Srnka und führt deren Kompositionen auf.
Das Orchester gastiert in ganz Europa und Japan.

Von den Einspielungen sei die Janáček-Trilogie mit dem Dirigenten Tomáš Netopil – zwei dieser Einspielungen wurden von der Zeitschrift „Gramophone“ als Editor´s Choice gewürdigt – und die erste komplette Einspielung der acht Sinfonien von Miloslav Kabeláč oder die Aufzeichnung aller Klavierkonzerte von B. Martinů genannt. Das Orchester hat Dvořáks Oper “Alfred” und das Profilalbum des Solisten der Wiener Staatsoper, des Bassbaritons Adam Plachetka, als Weltpremiere aufgezeichnet.